17 buildings recognized by the New Albany Historic Preservation Commission for their preservation efforts | News

NEW ALBANY — In a celebration combining two years of awards, the New Albany Historic Preservation Commission has recognized 17 buildings in New Albany that have been restored and renovated in the past two years.

The annual Facelift Awards were announced on Wednesday, recognizing businesses and homes, as well as their owners, for the work done to preserve their historic facades. The awarded projects were completed in 2020 and 2021, marking the 13th and 14th year the commission has hosted the ceremony.

Mayor Jeff Gahan was the first on the podium to accept the award on behalf of the city for work done at the Graf-Conner Building, now known as New Albany City Hall, which also hosted the event. of Wednesday.

The city began the project in 2018 and completed it in 2021, with city workers officially moving in in September.

Floyd County Historian David Barksdale recognized the building for its historically accurate windows and era-appropriate signage, among other works.

“I have to give the mayor a lot of credit. He saw the vision here, and he went to get it,” Barksdale said.

Some of the building owners in attendance received more than one award, including Louis Schmitt, the owner of the Walter-Mann Building and the George Goodbub Building, both completed in 2020 and the home of Schmitt Furniture.

Schmitt received an award for the Walter-Mann Building, at 212-214 State St., for its historically appropriate second- and third-story windows, the pressure washing and painting of the facade, and the reconstruction of the period storefront .

The George Goodbub Building at 218-220 State St. was recognized for the work done to strip paint from the facade, repair and repaint the original cornice, and restore the original stone and brickwork. The building also has period-appropriate signage and windows on the second and third floors as well as an original matching detail on the storefront.

Steve Resch also received awards for two of his buildings, the Benjamin Briggs Building at 121 E Market St. and the John Briggs Block at 123 E Market St. Both structures have been occupied by the New Washington State Bank since the restoration projects. were completed in 2019.

The George Goodbub building, owned by Louis Schmitt, was awarded Wednesday at the Facelift Awards for the restoration and renovation of the building’s facade.

The buildings were recognized for work done to repair gutters and downspouts, restore and repair cornices and window cowls, clean and repaint brickwork, and install windows to match original details and a storefront historically accurate.

Several owners were also present to receive a Facelift award, including the couple Susie and Ralph Smith of 2108 Ekin Avenue. The Paquette-Bonifer house was recognized for its landscape changes, the maintenance of the original windows and siding, among other works carried out during the restoration.

“We are so happy to see the changes in our neighborhood,” said Susie Smith.

The couple’s neighbors, Allison and Jonah Sage, at 2109 Ekin Ave. also received an award on Wednesday for Maison Louis and Sophia Bir. The award was given due to the remodeling of the brick foundation, the restoration of the original windows and siding, and the restoration of the original front door, among other works.

The Danforth-Briggs-Cody home owned by Floyd Circuit Court judge Peggy and Terrence Cody was also recognized on Wednesday. The home, located at 303 E 3rd St., was completed in 2020 and has been recognized for its steel standing seam roofs, gutter replacement and repairs, and trim and door repairs, among other work performed.

The home’s restoration also included removing the green paint from the brick home, which Cody said he was glad to have removed.

Cody pointed to the photo of the house before the renovation and said: ‘it’s the infamous green house in Houndmouth’, referring to the local band in which his son Shane Cody plays drums, who recorded his last album at home.

“When my parents painted the house, I hated it then, I hate it now,” Cody said with a laugh.

Other buildings awarded at the ceremony were the JJ Newbury Co. Building owned by Diana and Ross Wallace; the William Z. Aydelot House owned by Bobby Brooks III and Jack Koetter; the Johnson Morris House; the Foreman-Black House owned by Dale and Keely Smith; the addition to Main Street School owned by Rob and Carrie Klaus; the James and Lizzie Wray House owned by Tara and Chad Stenberg; the George Fleischer Grocery Building owned by the Bliss family; the Elias Laib Building owned by Andy Carter and the Frank and Matilda Seibel House owned by Chandler Casey and Natasha Foley.

Each winner received a certificate and a plaque to hang on the facade of the building.

Comments are closed.